LinkedIn Job Search Technology

[tweetmeme]

LinkedIn technology for job search, two part series

In our next article we will show you free technologies available to leverage  your LinkedIn profile and connections.

Sometimes technology can be really cool and of low utility, and other times they can be less cool and of higher utility.

Personal LinkedIn Heat Map

One of the more advanced tools that salespeople utilize is something called heat maps.  For sales, they are effectively a visual representation of target markets that help one visualize where opportunity exists.  By visualizing opportunities you can strategize on potential areas that offer a greater likelihood of success and then allocate time and effort appropriately.

LinkedIn is now offering what they call an InMap which is effectively a heat map of your connections and clusters them to show you network clusters and their intra-connectivity.

Below is my personal heat map as of early November 2011. Each dot represents someone in my network.  By hovering on any circle, I get a secondary window showing me; who that dot represents as well as their base LinkedIn information. Larger circles represent more shared connections.  For my heat map, the blue cluster is my current employer, the green cluster my “home community”, and the purple/orange cluster is my old employer split between regional offices versus national headquarters.  Those closer to the center tend to be professionals that I have done business with, or network with, on a regular basis.

My conclusion after playing with this for a while is that this is very cool technology, but I struggle as to how actionable it really is.

Try it yourself and let us know what you think. Maybe you will find greater utility than I did.

Our conclusion on LinkedIn InMaps. (Personal Heat Map)

Cool technology, low utility.

1 Response to “LinkedIn Job Search Technology”


  1. 1 tracybrisson November 21, 2011 at 2:52 am

    Interesting post. I found some useful findings when I ran my own map and also blogged about it. I have fewer connections, though more groups than yours. There was one organization that I didn’t realize was that influential, and another where I was surprised how few people I had in my network. However, I found that my time was spent trying to meet new people than trying to track old relationships via LinkedIn.


Leave a Reply

